Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards Announce Nominees for 2019/2020

The nominees for the prestigious 55th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards have been unveiled. The countdown now begins to the gala awards function on 22 March 2020, when the winners in this performing arts calendar highlight will be announced. The showcase is to be hosted at The Baxter Theatre in Cape Town.

Established in 1965, the annual awards known as South Africa’s leading performing arts competition, focuses on professional theatre productions staged in Cape Town and environs. It is sponsored by Distell and has served as a launching pad for many of the country’s most prominent names in theatre, while honouring many of its most established talents.

Congratulating the latest nominees, newly appointed judging panel chairperson, Africa Melane says the standard of entries remains world-class. “Each year we’re faced with a very difficult task of having to select from an exceptional, high-quality line-up. Once again, the nominees have set the bar high. Well done to everyone and thank you to my fellow judges for their time, dedication and passion.”

Africa Melane, Chairperson of the judges’ panel.

There are a total of 59 productions in the running for the top honours this year. Some of these productions include: (W)asem, An Extraordinarily Ordinary Life, Aunty Merle: It’s a Girl!, Confessions of a Mormon Boy, Five Women Wearing the Same dress, Okwe Bokwe (Like/Of a Goat), Kunene and the King, Ukuwa Kwe Nkaba and Woza Albert.

The panel assessing the productions comprises of long-standing members as well as newcomers – all respected experts in their fields unified by a unique perspective of the performing arts. Along with Africa Melane as chairperson, they include Dr Beverley Brommert, Maurice Carpede, Marina Griebenow, Thabo Makgolo, Mariana Malan, Roxy Marosa, Dr Wayne Muller, Tracey Saunders, Lwando Scott and Hadley Tituss.

Come the night of the final announcement, the awards will be presented in 24 categories. This will also be when the accolades to acknowledge stand-out innovation in theatre and lifetime achievement will revealed.

The categories include: Best new South Africa script, Best new director, Best performance, Best production, Best director and even Most promising student, just to name a few.

The event breaks from tradition this year in that public tickets for the event will not be made available. Rather, the awards ceremony may be followed via the Fleur du Cap YouTube channel.

Bridgitte Backman, Director of Corporate and Regulatory Affairs at Distell.

“Distell is a proud supporter of the arts. It has sponsored the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards for more than five decades,” says Bridgitte Backman, Distell’s Director of Corporate and Regulatory Affairs. “This year marks the start of a new decade and judging from the standard of nominees, an exciting one for the performing arts in South Africa. Congratulations!”

The 55th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards are audited by The Finance Man, with legal services provided by Cluver Makotter. Follow the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards on Facebook via facebook.com/FdCtheatreawards/ and Twitter via twitter.com/FDCTheatreAward/.

Click here to see the full list of nominees and their respective categories. Join the conversation and use the hashtag: #FdCTheatreAwards2020


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *